Another Sacred Day

Because I clearly have a commitment issue (what happened to those 5 haikus a day?!), my dedication to blogging is subpar at best. Therefore, this one is a very delayed reflection on 9-11 (although originally written on the anniversary at least) …nothing dramatic, just…well, a reflection.

“It’s 9/11 Cassidy stated matter-of-factly as the computer hummed to life. Just a simple sentence. A set of numbers. A date. Pause. Do I feel? Do I feel the surge of emotion that rocked me 12 years ago? The answer is no. More a quiet tidal push. The flow that follows the ebb. Not dramatically but reliably. I light a candle. Kiss my husband. Cradle my children. Step reverently through another sacred day, because I still can. And try to remember that my gratitude for this simple day is a tribute to those who are gone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

